The Keylogger Project

Guerline Aurelus
2 min readSep 6, 2022

--

Image credit: Planeta Red

I want to start by giving credit to Josh Madakor for his video on YouTube and Tenor for the gif pictures that I used to do the video.

What are Keystroke Logging and Keyloggers?

“Keyloggers are built for the act of keystroke logging — creating records of everything you type on a computer or mobile keyboard. These are used to quietly monitor your computer activity while you use your devices as normal. Keyloggers are used for legitimate purposes like feedback for software development but can be misused by criminals to steal your data” (https://usa.kaspersky.com/resource-center/definitions/keylogger).

This project was once again very interesting and exciting. I watched Josh Madakor’s video a few times, but I got a lot of error messages when I tried to start the visual code. After doing some research, I deleted the Visual Studio and the keylogger source folder from my computer, and I used a different computer that did not have an antivirus installed.

I realized that the problems encountered were because:

  1. I did not install Visual Studio with the correct files
  2. I needed to add the keylogger source folder to my virus and threat protection/exclusions. However, I did not have access to my settings since they were being managed by the McAfee antivirus.

I did a walkthrough and a video. Please take a look and let me know what you think.

Thank you to Dijah and Simon Anazu for working together on that project with me. Please look at Khadijah’s post on LinkedIn

Disclaimer: DO NOT TRY THIS ON ANYONE’ S COMPUTER! THIS IS FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.

--

--